Author Topic: How sharp is sharp...  (Read 3462 times)

Offline Blayne

• Top Predator Outdoors
How sharp is sharp...
« on: August 06, 2015, 09:20:24 pm »
I am really going at it this year with archery hunting. I have packed a wheely bow around in the past, but this is my first year going trad(glass recurve and yew long bow) I am also using Zwickey Eskimos for the first time, and am having a tough time getting them "hair popping, razor sharp".

My question... How sharp is sharp enough? And do any of you have any hints on how to get them crazy sharp. I have tried sandpaper, file, stones, broadhead sharpeners. Nothing seems to get them the razor edge that I hear about. Thanks for feedback...
"A society grows great when old men plant trees under who shade they will never sit" Greek Proverb

Offline osage outlaw

Re: How sharp is sharp...
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2015, 09:22:49 pm »
I use a Lansky sharpening kit to get my trade points sharp enough to shave a path up my arm.  The kit is around $20.  It uses a jig to keep the stones at the same angle.
I started out with nothin' and I still got most of it left

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2015, 12:34:26 am »
If you can draw the edge across a stretched rubber band and it cuts it your blade is probably sharp enough to kill. A sharpening system like Clint suggests is a good idea for consistently sharp broadheads. Consistency is the key and that is most folks problem, myself included. Technique is also important. On an established edge finesse is more important than brute strength.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Chief RID

« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2015, 10:33:09 am »
A consistent angle is key. Use the broadhead sharpener to get that consistent angle. Use a med to fine stone to hone the edge by using the following method.