Author Topic: How does humidity affect drawweight/tiller?  (Read 6662 times)

Far East Archer

How does humidity affect drawweight/tiller?
« on: January 27, 2008, 05:32:57 am »
I have been pondering about this for the past 3 months, but never really got anywhere with it. I was wondering, depending on the humidity, how much can draw weight go up/down? Say a bow was made in 80% humidity and then was shipped to a place that was 50% on average. Would the draw weight go up considerably or would the change be so little it wouldn't matter? Also, what types of wood are more affected by climate change, for example, how does bamboo and ipe do in this sort of situation? And are laminated bows less affected to climate change than selfbows?

Last question, can tiller change when climate changes? Sorry for all the questions but I would really appreciate it if someone could answer these for me and anyone else who might be interested in the subject.

-Alex

DCM

Re: How does humidity affect drawweight/tiller?
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2008, 10:14:15 am »
I think there will be lots of answers, or more accurately responses, to this question but substaintially only speculation and antecdote.  Ironically, it's a thing farily easy to test accurately.