Author Topic: silver smithing question s  (Read 4371 times)

Offline Renacs

silver smithing question s
« on: February 18, 2015, 08:00:30 pm »
 This isn't bow related but my wife has been learning silver smithing over the last couple of years.  The problem is that there is limited resources on the web. She has taken  classes $, but as far as we know there's little on YouTube and no great sites like this one. Does anyone know some web resources that are out there? Specifically how to make a good open back, bezel?
                                                      Thanks Joe

Offline stickbender

Re: silver smithing question s
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2015, 05:26:13 pm »
     First of all, let me say, this is just an idea of how I would do it.  I am not a silver smith!  But I have done silver jewelry, back in the early seventies, when I was a Dental lab tech.  I made conchos, crosses, animals,and turquoise jewelry.  Haven't done any since.  But not knowing what you want to put in an open backed bezel, it is hard to get an idea about what steps to take.  Again, I am NOT a silver smith.  Once something is soldered, the solder, will take a higher temp. to melt, than when it was first soldered.  So if you want to solder something next to something that was soldered, you can do it without melting the previous solder point.  But you have to be careful as to how much heat you apply, and for how long.  I hope this helps, but it is probably something she already knows.  Keep searching for silver working, making silver jewelry, tips for making silver jewelry, etc. just keep searching, and changing the wording.  Something will turn up.