Author Topic: Hickory Tiller Check  (Read 3386 times)

Offline Jon Kaw

Hickory Tiller Check
« on: November 12, 2014, 10:38:36 pm »
Hey everyone, long time lurker, first time poster.  I've been working on my first bow and wanted to get your expert opinions on the tiller.  It's hickory, 68" NTN and I'm shooting for a final weight around 50# at 27".  Here it is braced.

Here it is at 22".

I'm seeing it being stiff on the outer half of the right side and maybe stiff next to the fadeout on the right side.  I like the bend on the left side.  Like I said, this is my first attempt so, please, tell me if I'm wrong or if you have any suggestions.  Any and all input is greatly appreciated.

Jon

Offline Jon Kaw

Re: Hickory Tiller Check
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2014, 10:42:24 pm »
Also, I noticed a check on the back as I was working on it this evening.

Is this bow in need of backing or do you think there is another way to fix it?

Jon

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2014, 11:17:38 pm »
Your analysis is good. Be sure to stay away from the area that is bending in the right limb and get the outer part bending more then the area just off the fade.   You could get a little more bend in the outer limb on the left side too.
 Pretty dang good for your first.       That check looks like it might be in the darker cambium. You might be able to just chip the cambium off and eliminate the check. If it does go into the white wood just fill it with super glue and it will be OK. 
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

mikekeswick

« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2014, 01:23:49 am »
Chances are that is just a piece of cambium lifting? Hopefully!

Offline Peacebow_Coos

« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2014, 03:21:33 am »
+1 PatB, looks great so far for a first bow

Offline Jon Kaw

« Reply #5 on: November 13, 2014, 10:35:10 am »