Author Topic: Osage pin knots on belly and side?  (Read 4066 times)

Offline lebhuntfish

• If the wood will bend, I'll make it beautiful!
Osage pin knots on belly and side?
« on: April 24, 2014, 08:34:17 pm »
So I was working on my Osage stave tonight, I have never worked around pin knots before. I got the back ring just like I was told with the knots. But I was taking the stave down to my lines tonight and thought I would ask about the pin knots or knots in general on the belly side and the sides or edge of the limbs.

Should I just cut through them on the belly side?
I think I should just work around them the best I can on the sides, right?
What are the way you guys do it?
What is the best tool or tool's to use to work around the knots?

Patrick
Once an Eagle Scout, always an Eagle Scout!

Missouri, where all the best wood is! Well maybe not the straightest!

Building a bow has been the most rewarding, peaceful, and frustrating things I have ever made with my own two hands!

Offline lukelawrence171

Re: Osage pin knots on belly and side?
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2014, 08:49:35 pm »
You need to be very careful trying to work knots on the belly of the bow the wood will tear very easily but the bow should be more than fine if you leave the knots in on the belly I would just work them with a rasp when you get to that area it would be nice to see pics of the knots  on the side of the bow to see how bad they are but the main thing is just to take your time around knots.

Offline Crogacht

« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2014, 08:55:13 pm »