Author Topic: Sinew on a mollegabet?  (Read 2604 times)

Offline kevinsmith5

Sinew on a mollegabet?
« on: November 13, 2013, 09:33:10 pm »
So in looking at applications of sinew on bows I was wondering if anyone had ever sinew end a mollegabet? It seems like on some of the mollies with reflexed levers I've seen that you're well on your way to a static recurve and some sinew on the working part of the limb would be of benefit (but as a total newbie to sinew I might be totally wrong on that).

Offline JW_Halverson

Re: Sinew on a mollegabet?
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2013, 10:22:59 pm »
I am theorizing that a wood with poor tension qualities and good compression would certainly benefit from it. 

To my eye, the short working limbs really bend a lot on a molle and I have wondered the same thing.  Prolly would have tried it, but that transition from thin and wide working limb to skinny nonworking levers has always put me off.
Guns have triggers. Bicycles have wheels. Trees and bows have wooden limbs.

Offline ionicmuffin

« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2013, 11:30:38 pm »
well wouldn't the sinew be more effective because its being moved a lot less from starting position when you shoot, plus the weight of the sinew would be less problematic because the tips and outer half of the bow would be still just as light. Is there something to this?
Amo innectis arcus- I love crafting bows (latin)

Offline PatM

« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2013, 11:37:52 pm »
It's been done.  A Mollegebet is just a zero angle static. 

Offline Badger

« Reply #4 on: November 14, 2013, 12:21:49 am »