Author Topic: Heat tempering question  (Read 2122 times)

Offline RyanR

Heat tempering question
« on: September 17, 2013, 08:00:23 pm »
I was heat tempering the belly of my bow on a form and some heat circled around the form and got to the back.  There of a couple of spots that turned brown. I sanded some off but was wondering if this will hurt the bow.  It is elm.

Offline Eric Garza

Re: Heat tempering question
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2013, 08:06:15 pm »
I'm not sure what you mean when you say 'circled around the form'. I've treated a decent number of bows, and have never had that happen. Did you heat the belly so harshly that you heat treated all the way through the limb? If so, then I have no experience with doing this so I don't know how your bow will turn out.

Offline RyanR

« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2013, 08:13:34 pm »
No, my form has a side to it and I think it went between that and the bow and then around under it because it is only on discolored on one side.  I think it will sand off.

Offline Fred Arnold

• From up on Munson Creek
« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2013, 08:20:59 pm »
Ryan, I've had the same problem. I think I'm going to cut a 1 piece form about 1 1/2" wide for all of my heat treating.
I found many years ago that it is much easier and more rewarding working with those that don't know anything than those that know it all.

Offline RyanR

« Reply #4 on: September 17, 2013, 08:41:17 pm »
Did it ruin the bow?

Offline Fred Arnold

• From up on Munson Creek
« Reply #5 on: September 17, 2013, 09:46:55 pm »
It did not ruin the ( bows )  ;D. I've had the problem multiple times. I guess it would depend on how bad it was fried. Mine have just been scorched and it is just been an annoyance that caused extra cleanup, sanding, and finishing work.
I found many years ago that it is much easier and more rewarding working with those that don't know anything than those that know it all.

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->