Author Topic: Help needed: arrow rookie  (Read 2643 times)

Offline Shondy55

Help needed: arrow rookie
« on: May 30, 2013, 12:21:02 pm »
Hey guys,
I've been making bows for a couple years and I have recently decided to start making my own arrows, I have a couple basic questions

1. Can you buy the round dowel sticks from hardware stores and make decent arrows out of them?
2. Do you need a jig to attach fletching?
3. What is the best shape to cut fletching for hunting and target shooting arrows?

Thanks!          -shondy
Go O' seeker and may your quest be not in vain

Offline RBLusthaus

Re: Help needed: arrow rookie
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2013, 12:35:54 pm »
1- yes, but you should sort them for good grain - and only use those suitable for arrows.
2- no, but unless your hand and eye is real good, they will look better, IMHO, if you use a jig. 
3- whatever works for your eye, but dont use too much feather or the arrow will "become" a flu flu.  I suggest you cut all the feathers you need at once, so at least they all will look the same. 

Russ

Offline MartinHeZ

« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2013, 01:47:24 pm »
Complete novice myself when it comes to arrows, but I might be able to give a little advice from my own ventures in this.

1- never used the dowels, although I have used bamboo garden canes you can get in loads of stores, worked well although they need a bit of work to get straight/smooth, the nodes can be a pain, and also be careful when you file/sand as they contain silicon, which isn't a good thing to breath in.
2- i haven't used one, and I think my fletch went on alright, like RBLusthaus said though, I can imagine it can only be a good thing to use a jig, a little tip in terms of what I found works. Grasp the arrow shaft between you knees and you have an easier job putting it on.
3- no idea as I said, newbie as well :D

Offline richardzane

• active Wyandot tribal member
    • richardzanesmith.wordpress.com
« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2013, 04:00:51 pm »