Author Topic: Kid's bow stats  (Read 2069 times)

Offline Weylin

Kid's bow stats
« on: April 25, 2013, 02:16:59 am »
I'm working on a vine maple kid's bow right now. I am a teacher at a school that my son goes to and we are having an auction as a fundraiser. I'm going to donate this bow to the auction but I'm not sure exactly what the specs should be. I've made some kid's bows for little guys, 3-5 years old, and they are around 8-10# @ 15"ish. I want this bow to be for children in the 6-7 age range but I'm not sure what their draw length would be or how much they can pull. I know it can vary quite a bit from child to child but I'm just trying to get in the ball park so it will be useable by a wide range of kids. I'd also like to over-build it a bit if I can so that they can grow into it. The bow is 48" with a 5" stiff handle/fades and it has flipped tips. Right now I have it bending nicely at 20# @16". Any thoughts from people who have build some kid's bows? Thanks.  8)

Offline JackCrafty

• Global Moderator
  • Sorry Officer, I was just gathering "materials".
Re: Kid's bow stats
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2013, 02:36:13 am »
The way I like to make my kids bows is 1lb drawn for each year of age until they feel the bow is to weak (usually around age 15), and then I increase the poundage.  I also make one every year for each kid, on average.  I make the arrows very weak in spine and a little long. That way, they shoot right where the kids point them, even if they want to shoot something 2 feet away.

That's a LOT weaker than other guys build 'em, so I'd wait for more replies.

Edit:  One more thing, I make 'em as weak as I can for safety as well as for comfort.  A kid with a 15# to 20# bow is a scary thing.   :o
« Last Edit: April 25, 2013, 02:39:46 am by jackcrafty »
Any critter tastes good with enough butter on it.

Patrick Blank
Midland, Texas
Youtube: JackCrafty, Allergic Hobbit, Patrick Blank

Where's Rock? Public Waterways, Road Cuts, Landscape Supply, Knap-Ins.