Author Topic: Best time to chase rings in osage and black locust  (Read 6999 times)

Offline rapaport

Best time to chase rings in osage and black locust
« on: March 03, 2013, 05:59:43 pm »
I am new to osage and black locust. What are your opinions on chasing rings on these two types of wood? When is it best to chase rings? After completely dried or is it easier to chase when still green? Which of the two are easier to chase rings on? Is black locust similar in characteristics to osage when chasing rings? I have a 7" to 8" diameter  6' long straight and no twist osage log from what I can see. I will split in half. Ends are sealed with two thick coats of polyurethane. Im trying tobe very careful and need to  make sure I doing things right. So if u guys could help me out with green vs dry ring chasing for both. Thanks.

Offline JW_Halverson

Re: Best time to chase rings in osage and black locust
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2013, 06:03:45 pm »
For the most part, getting the bark and sapwood off is best done when the wood is still wet/green.  Once you have a consistent yellow stave of all heartwood, slap something over the wood to seal it.  Cheapo spray shellac in a can, leftover latex paint, a quart bottle of carpenters wood blue, an 8 ft long tub of molten beeswax, whatever you can find.  Put it up where air circulates and it's out of the sun.  Forget it for 2 years!

As for chasing growth rings, I prefer the oldest and most cured out wood I can get my grubby paws on!
Guns have triggers. Bicycles have wheels. Trees and bows have wooden limbs.

Offline osage outlaw

« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2013, 06:42:03 pm »