Author Topic: Howdy  (Read 1966 times)

Offline Mikeeeeeeeeee

Howdy
« on: February 14, 2013, 11:18:51 pm »
Howdy all. I'm new to this all, but enjoying it. I began my first bow project this week. I felled a nice straight shagbark hickory and made some staves.
I have reduced one to a blank and it is sitting in the bedroom drying.
How long should I let it sit?
I live in Central Alabama, near Eclectic.
Anyone near me?

Offline JW_Halverson

Re: Howdy
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2013, 11:25:06 pm »
Hickory is famous for taking it's very very sweet time drying out.  In order to make that up to you, hickory is pert' near impossible to break.  It may hinge horribly from bad tillering, but you really have to heap on the abuse to break it. 

I'd recommend you get the back of the bow sealed, no sense allowing drying checks to start cracking up a nice piece of wood.  Then, just wait a month.  if you are down to near bow dimensions, it should be pretty close to dried out.
Guns have triggers. Bicycles have wheels. Trees and bows have wooden limbs.

Offline burn em up chuck

« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2013, 11:31:11 pm »
    welcome, I really hate to say this, but theres no quick answer and I'm sure someone w/more knowledge
 will speak up. Until than try the search option,I've been trying it out lately, very helpful.
     again welcome to pa

chuck
Honored to say I'm a Member of the

Twin Oaks Bowhunters club

Offline BOWMAN53

« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2013, 11:39:48 pm »
Welcome. Hickory is awesome wood, i love it. While your waiting for your stave to dry, pick up a a hickory board.just to get your feet wet, and practice tillering. Or you can vist the trading post on here and see if you can trade with someone for a seasoned stave.

Offline Mikeeeeeeeeee

« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2013, 12:06:06 pm »
What would be a good choice for a sealant for the back of the blank?

Offline bobbykelley

« Reply #5 on: February 15, 2013, 12:12:05 pm »