Author Topic: Complete newbie to archery! :( Seeking help  (Read 1447 times)

Offline Basculho

Complete newbie to archery! :( Seeking help
« on: February 11, 2013, 11:47:50 am »
Hi guys, great forum!  ;)
Let me say that i am passionate in everything related to the medieval era of history, it's just amazing and amusing!
Therefore, i had never thought about it, and i finally decided to make a bow to pay homage to those times!
It will be first and i'm only 16, so i don't have access to many tools, but wood won't be a problem since i live in a zone where forests are plentiful

So, thing is, it's so hard to finally get into the art, and i'm completely lost in it  :-\
So my question is, what are the firsts procedures in bow making and can you guys provide me some good resources on the matter?
Thanks and have a good day :D

Offline CherokeeKC

• PM108323
Re: Complete newbie to archery! :( Seeking help
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2013, 11:53:23 am »
Traditional bowyers bibles, primitive archer magazines, bent stick by paul comstock is a good start...also use the search bar in this forum at top and also in how to and build along forum
Aim Small...Hit Small

Offline Slackbunny

« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2013, 11:54:31 am »
This site is a great resource. I would advise you to dedicate an evening to just reading, especially in the buildalong section. The Bowyers Bible volumes one through four are also a great read for new bowyers.

I would recommend that you first go out, identify a tree that is known to be decent bow wood, cut it down, strip the bark, split it, and get it drying. Then go out and buy a straight grained red oak board or two at a lowes or home depot or something. Try to get a bow out of the board while you wait for your natural staves to dry. You will learn a lot from the board bow build, and then you can try your hand at the stave.

Again, just get reading on this site, there is a lot of information here.

Offline burn em up chuck