Author Topic: New member saying hello  (Read 1647 times)

Offline Orangeman89

New member saying hello
« on: January 28, 2013, 01:40:57 pm »
Hi Folks,
I am a new member of the forum as of today and wanted to say hello.  I am a new self bow builder.  I have completed one osage bow using Dean Torges methods and it was a great shooter until it blew up.  I made the mistake of having my 16 year old son draw it and boom!  Turns out he has a legitimate 29.5" draw.  I currently have three bows in the works.  I am working on a 55" kids bow, a 62 inch bow following the torges book, and a 68" bow following Gary Davis video tutorial.  I actually started trying to build bows back in 2002, but got intimidated on the tillering part and left a bow in rough outline.  Decided to give it a try this year thanks to all the you tube videos that explain tillering.  That was the bow I blew up.  Anyway, I have a bunch of osage I cut in December and January and am speed drying enough so that I can work on some bows.  I live in Southwestern PA and was wondering if there were any other forum members from PA?  I look forward to being a part of this community, and hope to be able to add value where possible.  This is a great site, with a lot of talented bowyers that I hope to learn from. 
Mark

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: New member saying hello
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2013, 01:52:16 pm »
Welcome to PA mark. I think there are a few members from  PA or close by. They should chime in soon.
  If you have read through the site you know we require pics. We'd love to see what you are building.

Pat
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

blackhawk

« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2013, 02:04:49 pm »
Welcome....don't know if I can help with how to make a bow,but I live in beaver county....where exactly you at? There's several guys from our area around.

Offline burn em up chuck

« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2013, 02:17:05 pm »