Author Topic: My first osage broke...Repairable? or scrapwood?  (Read 2776 times)

Offline Parnell

Re: My first osage broke...Repairable? or scrapwood?
« Reply #15 on: November 23, 2012, 10:48:23 pm »
Congratulations, enjoy the warmth it gives off. O:)
1’—>1’

Offline Stalkingfox

• Not all those who wander lost. _J.R.R. Tolkien
    • Innerfield
« Reply #16 on: November 23, 2012, 11:48:42 pm »
Wow, thank you all so much, I'm very happy to have joined yesterday. I just broke it a few hours ago and she's allready on the mend. I have a hackberry bow stave underway to a new bow, but its my only stave I don't have another. I'm new to this but highly motivated and determined to make my own, but lack material lol. I've started making arrows which is fun as well but again lack feathers lol. in time I wwant to gather my own fresh wood to split and stave, but for now I need to get more expeience before I take a tree in vein. I don't wantt o disrepect by cutting one down without proper expeiance on how to make a bow
Not all those who wander are lost.

Offline Weylin

« Reply #17 on: November 23, 2012, 11:51:03 pm »
what part of the country are you in? It may be that there is an experienced bowyer nearby that would be happy to help you out. That's how I started, I wouldn't be a 1/10th of the bowyer I am without their help. (not that I'm all that great)

Offline Stalkingfox

• Innerfield
« Reply #18 on: November 23, 2012, 11:56:32 pm »
I'm in iowa actually, and there are two I know of and he gave me this stave of osage to start with, he is part of three rivers archery and has helped me a great deal, Ill ask him tomorrow, tho I know Dave is quite busy.

Offline JW_Halverson

« Reply #19 on: November 24, 2012, 12:04:50 am »
Are you anywhere close to Burlington?  Iowabow lives there and he's one heck of a guy for helping out.  (Hey John...I just volunteered you!   >:D)
Guns have triggers. Bicycles have wheels. Trees and bows have wooden limbs.

Offline steve b.