Author Topic: advice for a novice  (Read 1701 times)

Offline stonearrow

advice for a novice
« on: October 18, 2012, 12:30:19 am »
I have been knapping for about two years now. Everything i know has come from trial and error. I can make a fairly good arrowhead but they are usually small(none over 3 inches). How can i get bigger blanks and improve overall?

Offline ionicmuffin

Re: advice for a novice
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2012, 02:44:46 am »
i believe that if you can find a rock cutter you can cut big blanks as slabs. its probably the easiest way to get bigger blanks, however, i think if you have enough force you can get larger flakes from the rocks.
Amo innectis arcus- I love crafting bows (latin)

Offline TRACY

« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2012, 07:48:25 am »
Sounds like you need larger stone/spalls to work on. Sounds like you're making some good ones, post some pics if you want. Lots of good folks and advice here.

Tracy
It is what it is - make the most of it!    PN500956

Offline bubby

« Reply #3 on: October 18, 2012, 04:26:15 pm »
what are you working with, if your working slabs find a gem shop, they useually have bins of slabs of all sizes, or they will cut it for you, or just get bigger rock/spalls, Bub
failure is an option, everyone fails, it's how you handle it that matters.
The few the proud the 27🏹

Offline stonearrow

« Reply #4 on: October 18, 2012, 07:21:09 pm »
 I use what i can find in the area around my home. Its mostly Burlington i think but their are about four diffrent kinds of stone that i regularly find. I have no idea what kind they are. I will try to get some pictures up of some of the heads i have made.

Stringman

« Reply #5 on: October 18, 2012, 09:08:23 pm »