Author Topic: "Finishing" questions  (Read 2031 times)

Offline Guessed

"Finishing" questions
« on: September 30, 2012, 02:03:06 pm »
To prevent my stick from getting bone dry how do I seal/finish it? I've seen some stuff about "tru-oil" but you have to wait a week or so for it to dry?

What about like, sap or pitch? Will either of those work? I might even be able to get some bear fat/grease, will that work?

What I want to do is put some birch bark on mine. How do I go about this?

Offline Zion

• The blacksmith's mare walks barefoot
Re: "Finishing" questions
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2012, 03:28:04 pm »
I'm no expert on bark backs, but i know once the birch bark is glued on you would want to seal it tightly with thin glue or some other kind of sealant, like tung-oil, tru-oil, or any other wood-finish in multiple coats so that the back isn't damaged and so it is securely planted on the back.

A wooden bow doesn't even have to be sealed to be finished, but it is good to do so because it protects the wood from water and other harmful things. When you apply the oil just wait until it's completely dry, then apply more coats if you want. Usually 3-4 coats is just fine. 

A  lot of people on here like to seal/oil their bows with all-natural materials. I don't have any knowledge of sap, but fat makes an excellent sealant. A huge variety of oils and fats can be used to seal a bow.
The secret of life is learning to make your own luck.

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2012, 05:19:36 pm »
Wood is hygroscopic, meaning it takes on and releases moisture to the atmosphere as the relative humidity(R/H) increases and decreases. There is nothing you can do to prevent this but with a good sealer you can slow the hygroscopic rate.