Author Topic: black locust bow question?  (Read 2181 times)

Offline Deo

black locust bow question?
« on: August 09, 2012, 03:29:12 am »
I have never used black locust before and wanted to know how thick to make the bow?
the bow will be around 62 in to 64 in, south eastern style d bow, the width at the handle will be around 1 1/4 to 1 3/8 and at the nock at 7/8 to 3/4 of an inch at the nocks and i want it to pull around 45 to 48 lbs.
how thick do i make it at the handle and taper it to what thickness at the knocks?

Offline DarkSoul

• Orion Bows
Re: black locust bow question?
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2012, 08:53:07 am »
You cannot build a bow by accurately following thickness measurements. Thickness will come along as you go. So we can give you a figure to start with, but it will not make a bow. It's just a start, a point from where you start floortillering.
Handle width 1½" wide. Taper the nocks to 1/2" wide.

Thickness roughly 7/8" at the handle, and a uniform thickness taper to 1/2" thick at the tips.
"Sonuit contento nervus ab arcu."
Ovid, Metamorphoses VI-286

Offline tom sawyer

« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2012, 09:43:18 am »
You might look for examples of Cherokee bows, they made this style and used black locust I believe.
Lennie
Hannibal, MO

Offline toomanyknots

« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2012, 10:03:48 am »
You cannot build a bow by accurately following thickness measurements. Thickness will come along as you go. So we can give you a figure to start with, but it will not make a bow. It's just a start, a point from where you start floortillering.
Handle width 1½" wide. Taper the nocks to 1/2" wide.

Thickness roughly 7/8" at the handle, and a uniform thickness taper to 1/2" thick at the tips.