Author Topic: Log sealing and splitting  (Read 2365 times)

Offline Tortoise

Log sealing and splitting
« on: April 03, 2012, 01:15:21 am »
Just cut some mesquite I'm going to test out, and I was wondering where you get (or make) log end sealer. I heard this is a crucial step with the stave process so I'd rather be safe than sorry. Thanks
EDIT: I would also like to know how to properly split logs. I'm a newbie, never had hardwood logs to work with until now.  :)
-Peter
Arizona

Offline osage outlaw

Re: Log sealing
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2012, 01:17:27 am »
I use polyurethane or shellac depending on what's cheapest.  Wood glue and a list of other stuff will work also.
I started out with nothin' and I still got most of it left

Online JW_Halverson

Re: Log sealing and splitting
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2012, 07:48:17 pm »
A cheap sealer can be found at paint stores....ask them for damaged cans or mis-tinted cans on clearance.  Who cares what the color is, it will seal the wood!
Guns have triggers. Bicycles have wheels. Trees and bows have wooden limbs.

Offline toomanyknots

« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2012, 07:53:08 pm »
The cheapest and my favorite for sealing the backs of osage staves, after Ken on paleoplanet hipped me to it, is regular elmers glue. I like titebond 3 for sealing the ends. Well, I wouldn't say it is exactly the cheapest on second thought, but it ain't too expensive and it works.
"The way of heaven is like the bending of a bow-
 the upper part is pressed down,
 the lower part is raised up,
 the part that has too much is reduced,
 the part that has too little is increased."

- Tao Te Ching, 77, A new translation by Victor H. Mair

Offline dwardo

« Reply #4 on: April 05, 2012, 06:52:27 am »
Just cut some mesquite I'm going to test out, and I was wondering where you get (or make) log end sealer. I heard this is a crucial step with the stave process so I'd rather be safe than sorry. Thanks