Author Topic: Me Learning to Fletch Pics  (Read 3339 times)

Offline Dictionary

Me Learning to Fletch Pics
« on: March 31, 2012, 04:36:55 pm »
Well I've been feeling pretty down lately, and as always been waiting for bow wood and arrow shoots to dry and wanted to work on my fletching skills(complete novice). I got these goose feathers from Bevan like a month ago maybe. He's a great guy, i'm really thankful for these feathers. So i went up to Ace Hardware and got some dowels. They were pretty much straight so i didn't really heat them and straighten them just cut a nock and went straight to fletching. I used some red polyester thread i picked up from hobby lobby and gorilla glue to reinforce the wraps on the ends(i'm going to try and make some without using glue in the future). I wrapped through the feathers as well. Pics are awful and i should probably stop typing now because i'm getting tired of typing and you probably tired of reading this.

"I started developing an eye for those smooth curves as a young man.  Now that my hair is greying and my middle spreading I make bows instead."

-JW_Halverson

Offline Dictionary

Re: Me Learning to Fletch Pics
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2012, 04:38:52 pm »
I could trim them better. On the picture with both of them, the one on the left is the first one i tried and on right the 2nd one. Gorilla glue creates air bubbles, i didn't know this before. I applied too much on the first one at the wraps and it looks like a mess. On the 2nd, not so much though. The feathers aren't very well aligned either.

I need to get working on another bow to actually shoot these with. But as always i'm waiting for wood to dry. I feel depressed again
"I started developing an eye for those smooth curves as a young man.  Now that my hair is greying and my middle spreading I make bows instead."

-JW_Halverson

Offline Bevan R.

« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2012, 04:39:39 pm »