Author Topic: New, Questions about recurve bow!  (Read 2130 times)

Offline thesantaman

New, Questions about recurve bow!
« on: March 27, 2012, 01:56:35 am »
Hey guys so i'm completely new to bow making, and I have a few questions. 

I took one look at a recurve bow and decided it was the one I wanted to make, however I have some confusion about what I need and how to make it.  I went and bought a red oak board 6 ft, by 6 inches and 1 inch thick.

Here's my questions:  I have looked at some guides for making bows, on youtube, and this site.  However none are very specific on the recurve and how to make it.  I know you have to shape it with heat, and that I think I can manage.  But some guides on the layout and initial plans would be super helpful. 

The picture included is the shape I am going for.  I think it's absolutely amazing.  Thanks!!

Offline Josh B

Re: New, Questions about recurve bow!
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2012, 02:05:31 am »
That's gonna be pretty tough to pull off for a first bow.  I would recommend a pyramid style flat bow to get started .  George T has a website with step by step instructions towards that endeavour.  The information on his site also includes board selection.  Not all boards will make a bow. Undoubtedly he will see this and get you lined out.  Look forward to seeing your work.  Josh

Offline Bryce

• Global Moderator
  • Pacific Ghost Longbows
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2012, 04:26:34 am »
The bow pictured is a Composite bow which in the bow making world is the single most difficult bow to construct, and takes a long time time to construct, sometimes months. I've been building bows off and on for 7 years and just thinking about making a composite bow is intimidating.

Try a simple design first. Like just a straight long bow or like he said wide and long. Get about 50 bows under your belt, do a few weeks of research then attempt this bow. Every peice has to fit PERFECTLY.