Author Topic: selfbow care??  (Read 3932 times)

Offline bowtarist

• Primitive Archer Subscription Number PM103651
selfbow care??
« on: February 09, 2012, 02:59:27 am »

I've got an osage selfbow, no backing, w/ a leather over jute/hemp wrapped handle.  It has been finished w/ bees wax.
It's February in Indiana, sleet, rainy, cold, 28-45*.  I shoot nearly every day, I dry the bow when I come in and hang it back on the nail, but that's about it.  Will I know when to apply more bees wax, or should I be doing more of something?  Kinda worried about the handle w/ the jute/hemp under the leather getting too damp.  It's been saturated w/ some type of glue, but bare fabric is showing.  Any ideas on sealing that seam if needed would be great. 

Thanks for your ideas, derik p gratz 
(:::.)    Osage music played daily. :)

Offline chasing crow

Re: selfbow care??
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2012, 08:31:07 am »
I am far from an expert, but here's my 2 cents. I use "SNOW SHIELD" on my non wood areas. I have used it on my moccasins and other leather gear for years. just coat the areas to be protected liberally and heat with a hair drier, heat gun (not too hot), or other heat source. Just laying it on a warm surface out in the sun will work. After it has soaked in just wipe off any excess. Works great.
We know more than we think we do. Pass your knowledge on to our youth

Offline crooketarrow

« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2012, 09:50:02 am »
  I also use snow seal on leather handles. Leather out last everything else. I also use bee wax with a hair dryer. If by bow gets wet I dry it off keep all my bows in a wool sock. Lay IT flat to let
DEAD IS DEAD NO MATTER HOW FAST YOUR ARROW GETS THERE
20 YEARS OF DOING 20 YEARS OF LEARNING 20 YEARS OF TEACHING

Offline crooketarrow

« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2012, 10:05:48 am »