Author Topic: complete newbie questions  (Read 2436 times)

Offline Eagle Boyer

complete newbie questions
« on: February 07, 2012, 12:06:05 am »
ok so I just got some red oak boards the other day and on the one that I'm going to try first the grain appears to run in fairly straight lines on one half and at slight angles for the other.  So my questions are....do I need to straighten the lines on the back? should I put a backing on it? If so what should I use?  How wide should the limbs be? how much taper? oh and should mention the board is 2"x6' and I would like to make it pull 50#@28".  Any and all help is greatly appreciated.   

Offline Tortoise

Re: complete newbie questions
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2012, 01:08:02 am »
Yes you will need  backing with a board bow. You can use simple things like linen. I suggest using a riser (if you know what that is), and begin tapering right after the riser touches the board. Hope this helps  ;)
-Peter
Arizona

Offline lesken2011

• Kenny
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2012, 10:20:46 am »
There is a good build along at this site poorfolksbows.com

and great information at this site in the build along section and other sites like this one.

http://georgeandjoni.home.comcast.net/~georgeandjoni/

For by grace you have been saved through faith, and that not of yourselves; it is the gift of God, not of works, lest anyone should boast.

Ephesians 2:8-9

Kenny from Mississippi, USA

Offline Knapper

• David Atnip
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2012, 10:41:49 am »
There was a great article a few years ago inPA mag entitled bows from boards  I believe. I would suggest though you build one of lower poundage first to get the feel. but to build one to 50 you will have to back it or cut a thin strip and laminate it. Also first book" the traditional bowyers bible" is awesome reading. Will explain alot
Ad Dare Servire
PM104250

Offline Matt S.

« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2012, 12:04:00 pm »
I'll throw in my $0.02...