Author Topic: Questions From an Absolute Beginner  (Read 2972 times)

Offline Freebirth

• My Blog
Questions From an Absolute Beginner
« on: September 20, 2011, 06:26:05 pm »
I've been working on this bow for the last month or two (well, 9 months if you count felling the tree and splitting it). It's shagbark hickory and hard as nails, so the wood removal has been slow-going to say the least. Add to that the fact that I probably switched from hatchet to drawknife a little prematurely and you've got one loooong project. I have The Traditional Bowyer's Bible Vol. 1, but it tends to focus on woods like Osage with only a small section devoted to whitewoods. That leads me to have a lot of questions for you fine folks!

I'm wanting to make a flatbow at about 68 inches long. I'm not going to be too picking about the draw weight right now, though I'd love it to be able to take down a whitetail at least. Anyway, on to the questions.

1. What's a good way to shape the handle? I've found it fairly difficult to maneuver my drawknife to shape it. I don't want anything fancy, just the standard bump-in-the-middle to fit in the palm of my hand.

2. Knots on the belly, should I cut through them? Knots are an area I'm a little confused about. It seems some people work through them like they are no big issue, while other people warn that they will cause the bow to fail.

3. For future reference, how far should I remove with the hatchet before I switch to drawknife?

That's all I can think of for now, though I'm sure I'll think of more as I continue.

Thanks guys,
Adam
Southern Ohio

Offline Matt S.

Re: Questions From an Absolute Beginner
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2011, 06:35:35 pm »
Welcome Freebirth! I have an affinity towards shagbark hickory since I grew up around many and enjoyed eating their nuts as a kid. They're quite rare down here in Kentucky though  :-[