Author Topic: question about black locust  (Read 3280 times)

Stringman

Re: question about black locust
« Reply #15 on: September 12, 2011, 10:32:09 pm »
Thats right fishfinder, but it is considered a "yellow wood" kinda in the same family as mulberry and osage. While their colors do vary between the species, all three have a distinctive sapwood/heartwood contrast. Ive been working with black locust for a few years now and trying figure it out. Ive had some awful failures and tried some glue-ups that failed. Still got some nice straight staves laying around so im gonna keep tryin till i figure it out.

Offline fishfinder401

• noel laflamme noellaf2@cox.net
« Reply #16 on: September 12, 2011, 11:52:25 pm »
well..... i learn something new all the time :), now that i think of it, the bark does look similar
thanks
noel
warbows and fishing, what else is there to do?
modern technology only takes you so far, remove electricity and then what

Offline Qwill

« Reply #17 on: September 13, 2011, 12:08:42 am »