Author Topic: Removing old sealer?  (Read 3323 times)

Offline Will H

Removing old sealer?
« on: December 08, 2011, 02:20:25 pm »
I just got some great POC shafts in a trade. I'm wanting to do a two tone stain on them and make some fancy arrows. My question is since they are already sealed is this still an option? Is there a trick to getting the old sealer off? I'm new at this arrow making game so any input would be greatly appreciated :)
~Will
Proud Member of Twin Oaks Bowhunters
           Clarksville, Tennessee

"Middle Tennessee is the place to be"

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: Removing old sealer?
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2011, 03:10:25 pm »
If you are just trying to remove a clear sealer I'd sand it lightly and reseal over that then add crown dip and cresting if thats what you want.  If they have been crowned and crested you could sand most of that off and go over the top with new finish.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Will H

« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2011, 03:17:21 pm »
Thanks Pat. So if I want to stain the the arrow with some leather dye I should just sand off all the old sealer?
           Clarksville, Tennessee

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2011, 03:24:44 pm »
You will have to get all the old sealer off if you want to stain the wood. Be careful not to get into the wood too much with the sandpaper or you will change the spine.  You could paint over the old finish with just a light sanding to rough up the old finish. Use very fine sandpaper for this. I've used spray paint on arrow crowning with good results. Just tape off what you don't want sprayed and spray the rest.  You could paint the shaft one color and the crown a complimentary color. The old Bear Archery arrows were painted like this.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Will H

« Reply #4 on: December 08, 2011, 03:29:32 pm »