Author Topic: Need flint  (Read 2308 times)

Offline shiraforge

Need flint
« on: March 18, 2011, 02:11:29 pm »
Would like to try a hand at flint knapping.  I've tried a couple times years ago but am more serious about it now.  I'm a shop teacher at an alternative high school and would love to teach my kids to knap.  I have or can make all the necessary tools but need some rock.  I'm a blacksmith and a woodworker so I'd love to trade for some flint. 

Thanks,

Matthew Shirey

Offline toomanyknots

Re: Need flint
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2011, 08:38:56 pm »
Man, I had a bunch of it I would of just gave to you if I had not tryed my hand at flint knapping, and turned my huge flint boulders to flint gravel.  :D I find a bunch of it at washed up creek beds usually when I am out looking for trees to cut to make bows out of. I found a big hunk that someone had chipped off a bunch to make something. Might of been some indian a ways ago. I would look around creek beds if I was you.
"The way of heaven is like the bending of a bow-
 the upper part is pressed down,
 the lower part is raised up,
 the part that has too much is reduced,
 the part that has too little is increased."

- Tao Te Ching, 77, A new translation by Victor H. Mair

Offline JackCrafty

• Global Moderator
  • Sorry Officer, I was just gathering "materials".
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2011, 08:46:46 pm »
If you have a flintknapping group near you, that's the best place to get some flint.

Most of us will share with you in person, but a lot of us don't have all that much and we put a premium on our "stash".  I'm not sure you would feel you are getting enough rock if you trade.

With that said, just let us know what you can trade.  Many of us would like to get our hands on high quality arrow shafts made from hardwoods, for example.

Ebay is a good place for flint or obsidian if you can't get it locally.
Any critter tastes good with enough butter on it.

Patrick Blank
Midland, Texas