Author Topic: wal mart dowels  (Read 4531 times)

Offline douglasb

wal mart dowels
« on: February 05, 2011, 12:23:51 pm »
hi,
         have a question for you guys, i want to make my own arrows but i have never tried it before , i was thinking about trying some 3/8 dowels from wal mart for my first attemt has anyone made any out of these dowels, iam not even sure if it would be safe not knowing the spine weight i dont even know what kind of wood they are, picked up six the other day with little stickers on them that say product of brazil , they were the straitest ones of the bunch and the wood is dark ,they are darker than the ones without the sticker ,but still i dont know what their made of any help would be appreciated

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: wal mart dowels
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2011, 12:32:15 pm »
As long as the grain is straight and the runoffs are few and long you should be OK. You might be better served going to Lowe's or HD just because they specialize in building materials so you might have a better selection.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline osage outlaw

« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2011, 03:26:27 pm »
Our local Lowes has poplar dowels.  Would that be better than the cheap ones that walmart has?
I started out with nothin' and I still got most of it left

Offline stiknstring

« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2011, 03:54:00 pm »
I have had good luck with Lowes poplar dowels.  Made a half dozen for our state games a few years ago and STILL have four after various stump shooting and rabbit hunting excursions.  Check the grain carefully and get you a spine o meter of some sort and you will be in business

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #4 on: February 05, 2011, 04:06:12 pm »