Author Topic: HHB instead of Hickory  (Read 3229 times)

Offline osage outlaw

HHB instead of Hickory
« on: July 14, 2010, 04:21:29 am »
A former boss of mine invited me to come and cut down a hickory tree that lost its top in a storm.  When we got to the tree, it was next to his power lines.  I am not very experienced in cutting trees and didn't feel comfortable with the situation.  He promised to get a relative to take it down for me sometime soon.  I guess he didn't want me to leave empty handed, so he went into his garage and came out with a HHB log.  He said that it had been there 8 or 9 years.  I took it home and split it in half.  It is 75" long and 5" wide.  It split even down the middle.  I would like to make two bows, one for me and one for him.  I was wanting to have a stiff handle on each and aim for 50# on one and 60# on the other, both 27" draw length.  Does anyone have any suggestions for length and limb width?  Can I remove the outer bark and use that as the back of the bow?  I really like the flipped tips on Josh's HHB bow.

I started out with nothin' and I still got most of it left

Offline Dean Marlow

Re: HHB instead of Hickory
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2010, 07:43:20 am »
Oh you lucky guy. Those are beautiful HHB staves. Really straight for HHB. My last one was 66" long and ran 1-5/8" wide to mid limb then tapered down to 7/16" wide at the tips. HHB is a top whitewood. And yes take a dull drawknife and slowly take the bark off and use that right under the bark for your back. I would like to try for an Elb one of these days out of a good HHB stave. Dean

Offline Josh

• Silence is golden but duct tape is silver.
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2010, 10:28:23 am »
Man those staves look like they will both make excellent bows!  ...those demensions that Dean mentioned are perfect.  Good luck on your bows!   :)
“The trouble with quotes on the Internet is you never know if they are genuine.” —Abraham Lincoln

Offline George Tsoukalas