Author Topic: First osage  (Read 4538 times)

Offline Eric Krewson

Re: First osage
« Reply #15 on: January 07, 2010, 11:42:25 am »
Yep, top limb is hinged about a foot out of the fade and doesn't bend much for the last 18". The bottom limb looks much better but could need a little more from the big knot out a few inches.

If you checked your limbs with a tillering gizmo it would be an eye opener.

Offline OldBow

• I'm just an old retired biology teacher.
« Reply #16 on: January 07, 2010, 01:52:49 pm »
Got your serious weapon bookmarked for Jan Self BOM. Let me know if you repost it with more work (stain, etc.)
When you're retired, every day is Saturday

Offline Dano

« Reply #17 on: January 07, 2010, 05:42:29 pm »
I'm not see'in any hinge, looks great to me. It's like Pappy said, with a big knot you may want to leave it a little stiff there. Keep up the good work.
"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy."

Nevada

Offline tetaxidermy

« Reply #18 on: January 07, 2010, 09:04:53 pm »
I scraped a little to get a little more bend in the tips, going to leave it alone from here doing the finish work will post picks when done. Thanks for all the comments, Eric.
"Andy Dufresne: Get busy living, or get busy dying."
The Shawshank Redemption

Offline George Tsoukalas

• Traditional and Primitive Archers
« Reply #19 on: January 07, 2010, 10:51:36 pm »
See how it shoots. It's hard to gauge the tiller on a character bow with just your eyes.  Have to use other senses too.  Is it balanced when you draw  or tippy? How's it sound when you release the arrow? Is it silent? Is it shocky? Looks well tillered to me. I see stiff spots but you have to leave knots a little stiff or they'll do funky things. :) Jawge
Set Happens!
If you ain't breakin' you ain't makin!

Offline Eric Krewson

« Reply #20 on: January 08, 2010, 12:13:43 am »