Author Topic: First Build along: Twin Hickory Sisters  (Read 7227 times)

Majesticarcher

First Build along: Twin Hickory Sisters
« on: January 04, 2010, 11:25:08 pm »
Recently I recieved 4 6' by 6" by 2" rift sawn hickory boards for free :D and so i thought it would be nice of me to give back by doing a build along. This is my first build along so i don't know how well it will turn out but i'm hoping for the best. I'm building 2 idenditcal hickory board bows and I plan on keeping one and sending the other to my cousin.

I'm starting with 2 70" long hickory boards that are 2" wide and 1" deep. Notice that they both have some heartwood in one of the future limbs. As with most white woods there is little difference between the heartwood and sapwood(as far as bow building characteristics go) so it's not a problem.

Now I'm using a string with 2 weights on the ends to align the tips. both boards were a little warped and the tips ended up being about a 1/4 of an inch off of the center of the end of the board.

Now I mark my handle pattern on the back of the bow and making the tips 1/2" wide i mark out the width taper for the limbs.

Here you can see that i'm going for a pyramid style limb shape. Next step is to cut out the widht taper for te limbs on the bandsaw. If you don't have a bandsaw you can of course use a surform rasp or just a plain wood rasp.

My grizzly(model G0555) Bandsaw. I saved my money for about 5 months to buy this saw and it was definately worth it. Best power tool you can get for building bows in my opinion. Of course many people build great bows without one but it sure is nice to have.(i just noticed that you can see the reflection of the camera lens off the cast iron table)

Both bows now have the limbs width tapered.

Now I need to mark the thickness taper. To do that i made a little marking guide out of a block of maple. It's quicker and easier than using a ruler when thickness tapering.