Author Topic: Choosing a design to match your stave?  (Read 10370 times)

Offline George Tsoukalas

• Traditional and Primitive Archers
Re: Choosing a design to match your stave?
« Reply #30 on: December 04, 2009, 12:55:52 pm »
Kirk, I wish this site was around when I started. You have a great attitude. After 20 years or more of making bows, I'm still learning stuff. The 33 " draw bow was 72 " and just short of 50#. Made of osage. I may have been able to go an inch or 2 shorter but it came out well. I knew he add a 33" draw 'causeI watched him draw his glass bow. That was new territory for me. LOL. I draw 26" soaking wet and I don't do this for a living. In fact, I don't do nuthin' for a living no more! I'm aretired chemistry teacher. Keep the questions coming. Plenty of help here. :) Jawge
Set Happens!
If you ain't breakin' you ain't makin!

Offline George Tsoukalas

« Reply #31 on: December 04, 2009, 01:00:34 pm »
Kirk, btw, center shot ain't got nuthin' to do with can't. We can. Just don't want to. Personal preference. It's no nock on those who love that design. That's fine. It's not for me. That's all. So don't you center shotters start teeing off on me and David. :) Jawge
Set Happens!

Kirkll

« Reply #32 on: December 04, 2009, 01:12:29 pm »
thanks David,

i take everything with a grain of salt anymore brutha. especially getting involved in Internet forums. LOL! I think i'll ease into this first project going with the grain to error on the side of caution. i'd really like to do this Osage stave justice.

now I've got some other stave's I've been harvesting i can practice on a bit on too... or should i say i've harvested some wood with the "intention" of using them for bow stave's, at any rate. whether they are actually likely candidates or not, i haven't a clue yet.