Author Topic: Hickory Backed Cherry R/D -- Tiller-a-long!  (Read 2612 times)

Offline NruJaC

• Personal Blog
Hickory Backed Cherry R/D -- Tiller-a-long!
« on: August 17, 2009, 11:13:25 pm »
 Hey guys, working on a hickory backed cherry r/d. Hoping to get it to pull 45#@28". Since I've never built an R/D before, I thought it would be a good idea to have someone watching over my shoulder as I go. I'm gonna try and do as much of it myself as I can, as a learning experience, but stop me if you think I'm about to mess up!

Some stats: It's 1-1/2" wide from the handle to midlimbs, tapering from there to 1/2" nocks, 64" ntn. I plan to let it bend through the handle. The hickory is a little thick at 1/4" right now, but I plan to thin it out and trap it before I start tillering. I'm also a little worried about this piece of hickory (it was a gift from my dad a few years back, and he's a little peeved I haven't used it yet). It has some pretty bad grain. As a result, I've procured some silk from my grandma and intend to back the hickory with it (after I've thinned it out of course). Hopefully that'll make it tension safe. Any thoughts on that? As for the trapping, I was thinking of just giving it a fairly decent crown. Any measurements I should work towards?

Progress so far, I've got the whole thing glued up and I'm waiting on it to dry. I gave it ~4" of reflex, and 1" of deflex. I figure the bow will take some set and increase the amount of deflex while decreasing the amount of reflex before I finish tillering it anyway, so I didn't want to glue in too much deflex (especially since I intend the handle to bend).

First pic: bow in form. Yea, its a useless thing to post, but I want to make sure I know how.

Both limbs are the same length, that's just some fluff from the wrap I used in place of the billion clamps I don't own.

Thanks for any help you guys can offer!
Arjun from Reston, VA

Offline OldBow

• I'm just an old retired biology teacher.