Author Topic: Had my first blow up last night.  (Read 2500 times)

bearbowman

Had my first blow up last night.
« on: March 10, 2009, 01:31:00 pm »
I am a new bowyer. I have been reading books for years and thought I was ready.
I bought two hickory board staves from rudder bows archery. I made a flat limbed bow first and my second was a pyramid style.
The pyramid bow "was"a shooter. Last night I took it out to shoot and excercised it a little and then came to full draw and POW! The top 1/3rd of the limb went flying directly away from me. No warning at all. The spot that it broke was a little stiff until last week when I finally realized it and fixed it.
Do you guys think it broke because I shot it so long with that stiff spot before I fixed it?
I won't be posting pictures. It's too painful. I absolutely loved that bow.

Offline 22arrows

Re: Had my first blow up last night.
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2009, 01:37:55 pm »
bearbowman,
Like u I am new at this also and had my first bow blow up on me as well. I don't have any in site as to why your bow went, just that I feel your pain. Best thing I can say from what others fellas told me is to just get back at it. If your gonna build wooden bows; having some break is just part of it. ;)
« Last Edit: March 10, 2009, 01:48:09 pm by 22arrows »

Offline John K

« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2009, 01:41:15 pm »
Yep, If you ain't breakin em, you ain't makin em ! Sorry for you'r loss. Get back on the horse and ride ! :)
The only way to fail is to never start !

Online Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2009, 02:03:50 pm »
I'm sorry you broke your favorite bow. :(  Studying the break will give you insight into why it broke. Pics will help us determine why it broke. Sometimes you have to bare a bit of pain to find the truth.   
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline GregB

• Greg Bagwell
« Reply #4 on: March 10, 2009, 02:05:59 pm »