Author Topic: New to Bowmaking and just looking for some input  (Read 3255 times)

Offline KShip85

New to Bowmaking and just looking for some input
« on: February 13, 2009, 04:45:53 pm »
     I have been reading through posts and reading TBB collection for a while now and am deciding to finally post and see if I am doing alright here.  I am relatively new to bow making and have only really attempted two other bows with any success; both of those being osage.  My current project is a 55 1/2 inch ntn redbud tempered and backed with yucca fiber.  The decision to temper  it came from the heat treating section of tbb 4 as I thought if black locust responded well and redbud is a relative of locust then maybe it will respond well too.  The decision for backing came from reading that black locust sometimes failed in tension after heat treating and the fact that I inadvertently cut through a pin knot while chasing a ring and it pulled a splinter in the middle of the bow's back.  I'll try to post a full draw picture sometime in the near future but right now I am away from my shop and i think it's still a little damp from applying the backing.  There was a natural bend in the bottom limb, almost like a reflex-deflex that I tried to match in the upper limb but it didn't work so well as I was away from my tools and attempting to get by with my kitchen and some free weights.  Anyway, any feed back would be great as I am just looking to learn from all the many more experience than myself in this wonderful little art form.  Thanks all and I look forward to the feedback.

Kip Shipley    Bloomington, IN

nickf

Re: New to Bowmaking and just looking for some input
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2009, 06:51:30 pm »
get those outer limbs narrowed! 1/2" wide tips will do.
glad you're into bowmaking aswell :)

Offline brownhillboy

« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2009, 09:59:52 pm »