Author Topic: I would like to introduce myself  (Read 3257 times)

Offline brownhillboy

I would like to introduce myself
« on: November 14, 2008, 10:21:32 pm »
Hey everybody,  as it was pointed out to me in an earlier post, I never introduced myself or told you all anything about me.  I know that I have been posting quite a bit lately and I just kind of jumped right in.  I guess that is because I had been reading on the site for good long while before I joined, and then still I didn't post anything for a while.  That was mostly because I was doing most of my reading at work in any spare time I had!  I'm sure none of you do that.LOL!  Any way, we just recently got high speed internet at home, so I am finaly able to read and post from home.  I'm a 36 yr. old husband of 13 yrs. and a father of 2 young and wild boys.  I usually just tell people that I'm a mechanic, but my job is really more broad than that since I work with my 2 brothers, my dad, and 1 other employee in an auto salvage buisiness that my grandfather started.  My dad doesn't hunt, so I didn't really start hunting until I got married.  I was blessed enough to take a Pope and Young quality 8 point as my first deer with a bow!  Although at the time I was using a bow with training wheels!(compound)  That deer came in 4th place(7&8pt bow class) in the VA. state competition.  Five years later,  I took a 17pt. monster that took 1st place(12pt. or more firearms) and 2nd overall in the state with a VA. score of 224.5.  By the way, VA score is a lot higher than B&C or P&Y.  I'm not telling this part to brag, but rather to explain that with early success I soon began to tire of hunting with guns and compound bows.  Last year I took my first deer with traditional equipment(not primitive), and this year my first with my own hand made primitive bow!  I'm very thankful to have found the primitive way and this magazine and website to help guide me on my journey.  Thankyou for the knowledge that you share.  Here's a pic