Author Topic: Yew Longbow  (Read 16621 times)

Offline Gordon

Yew Longbow
« on: October 22, 2008, 02:23:29 am »
Even though I have been building my own bows for a few years now, I had never made a traditional yew longbow. The main reason for that is good yew wood is not easy to come by and I wanted to hone my skills before I began cutting into my small stash. For this first attempt I selected a set of sister billets that I had harvested from a buddies property in the high Cascades. It’s not prime yew – there were several knots and one dog-leg that I tried, unsuccessfully to heat out. But the rings were tight and the ratio of sapwood to heartwood was good. I spliced the billets at the handle using a Z-splice and made it 66” ntn. The limbs are 1 ¼” wide at the fades and taper evenly to ½” at the tips. The design is asymmetrical with the top limb 2” longer than the bottom.  I like an asymmetrical design because the bow balances better in the hand when being carried. It smoothly draws 60# @ 27” and delivers an arrow with a gentle and satisfying thump. The overlays are some sort of tropical hardwood and the handle is natural elk with a Strunk style wrap. The bow is finished with 9 coats of Tru-oil.

I’ve always been a bit envious of my friend’s traditional yew longbows, but now I finally have one I can call my own. Here are some pictures:

Gordon

Offline medicinewheel

Re: Yew Longbow
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2008, 04:34:27 am »
hey gordon!  -  beatifull bow; tiller looks fantasic so do the tip and handle details! ...and the arrow, too.
frank
Frank from Germany...

Offline cracker

« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2008, 05:51:04 am »
I think you can consider your skills properly honed now get to work on that primo stuff youve been hoarding.Ron
If we can't help each other what is the point of being here?

Offline Pappy

• Global Moderator
  • if you have to ask you wouldn't understand ,Tenn.
« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2008, 06:39:53 am »