Author Topic: new to bow making!!! here is what im gonna attempt to do !!!  (Read 9062 times)

Shooter_G22

new to bow making!!! here is what im gonna attempt to do !!!
« on: September 26, 2008, 11:42:47 pm »
ok i am new to this board so... greatings to all... and i am new to bow making... other than when i was a kid and put a mason line on a branch and shot kyte dowels with a dart tip at cardboard or the occasinal tree...lol...

i have tried to make a couple of self bows out of red oak from lowes and then i bought a plain sawn pecan ruff board 2"x6"x9'2"  i cut about 1 3/4 rip down the plank and soo the staff was about 2"x1 3/4"x110    i then cut it down to 2 staves one 58" long and the other 52" long i then carved to self bows and they both snaped during the tillering process while trying to get a full draw... and actually the 58" er    snaped during the tillering and then the 52"er  snaped after i had already finished the thing shot it about a little over 200 times and then i fine sanded and then polycoated it and then it snaped after i tried to get a longer draw.. i was shooting it at about 24 1/2" draw and tehn tried a full draw of 26 1/2" draw and it craked and soo i superglued the crack and now its cracked in several places and i have tried to super glue here and ther and now i give up on it!!!

but today i took the remains of the plank to a hard wood mill and the charged me 24 bucks to cut it up to several rip cuts i now have..    four:  1/2" rips   and    five:  1/8" rips    all quater sawn rips of 2" wide and 110" long...

****  ok here is what im going to try and do... ***

mind you that the rips are 2" wide and that is about how wide i want the limbs at the widest points

i cut one 1/2" rip to about 58" long

and then 1/8"  rip also 58" long

and then i bought some fiberglass cloth at lowes like for baot repair.. it is 3' x 3'

and i cut 2:   2" x 3' fiberglass cloth strips...