Author Topic: Hot box ?s  (Read 6839 times)

Offline Bent Rig

Re: Hot box ?s
« Reply #15 on: September 07, 2008, 10:30:47 am »
I would recommend that everyone  plugs their  heat box into a GFCI protected outlet - because you were miss informed by Orcbow - because the way a GFCI works is off the neutral wire , any leakage of current trips it and the neutral not the groundwire is the current carrying conductor - so if there is any fault whatsoever in the wiring and or breakdown of any components -the GFCI will pickit up and shut the power off -great insurance . A GFCI only monitors between the hot and the nuetral , so anythig thats plugged into it doesn't neccessarily need a ground for it to work . Something I do for a living ,Lol !!!

Paul
LU # 43
3rd generation electrician
Syracuse , NY------------"Beer is living proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy"
                                                                                     - Benjamin Franklin

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #16 on: September 07, 2008, 11:12:29 am »
Thanks, Paul. I appreciate you clearing this up for us. Obviously you have the knowledge and experience.      Pat
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Bent Rig

« Reply #17 on: September 07, 2008, 02:22:02 pm »
Sure thing Pat , I would hate for anyone to have a fire or get shocked and that would be the best way , also in conjuction like someone said - a thermostat to keep a desired temperature . Safety first !! ;)
Syracuse , NY------------"Beer is living proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy"
                                                                                     - Benjamin Franklin

Offline Jesse

« Reply #18 on: September 07, 2008, 05:54:10 pm »
Thanks again for clearing that up. I thought the gfci was a good idea but didnt know how it worked.
                                                           Jesse