Author Topic: dipping my feet in new water  (Read 2701 times)

jmace427

dipping my feet in new water
« on: July 29, 2008, 09:07:05 pm »
Hi all,  Im new to th pa scene I shoot longbow but want to make my own bow i would like something simple at 1st so any tips and pointers r welcome thanx to all

Offline Dano

Re: dipping my feet in new water
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2008, 09:25:27 pm »
If I was starting over again, I'd get this book and read it a few times. "Hunting the Osage Bow"
« Last Edit: July 29, 2008, 11:55:15 pm by Justin Snyder »
"If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy."

Nevada

Offline FlintWalker

« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2008, 09:27:55 pm »
Welcome! Tips and pointers are free here. ;D  Tell us what kind of wood you have available and we'll go from there ;)
 I also recommend The Traditional Bowyers Bibles.  Saw Filer
Be thankfull for all you have, because no matter how bad you think it is...it can always be worse.

Offline George Tsoukalas

• Traditional and Primitive Archers
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2008, 09:48:30 pm »
My site may help you get started. Jawge
http://mysite.verizon.net/georgeandjoni/

Set Happens!
If you ain't breakin' you ain't makin!

radius

« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2008, 10:10:10 pm »
my advice is to spend a few hours browsing this site...there must be hundreds of bows posted and lots of how-to's...then when you decide what you want to make, you'll have a good idea what wood to use and how to go about it.

What kind of tools do you have?

Scott

Offline Justin Snyder

• Administrator
« Reply #5 on: July 30, 2008, 12:00:21 am »
"Horsefeathers Ranch" has a lot of books. http://www.horsefeathersranch.com/archery.htm If I was starting over again I would do it just like I did.  Read Traditional Bowyers Bible volume 1 front to back. There is a ton of info here and please feel free to ask all the questions you want.  And read George's site.  ;) Justin