Author Topic: My Biennial Yew Harvest  (Read 4835 times)

Offline OldBow

• I'm just an old retired biology teacher.
My Biennial Yew Harvest
« on: July 16, 2008, 12:35:04 am »
Rode my bike 16 miles round trip on a "no-motorized vehicle" trail today and hauled out a decent  72" yew log. 
This is the first in several years where I won't have to billet pieces.
Growing about 200' from the log I got two years ago that Pat B created a very nice bow out of.
Have sealed up the ends and won't even start to envision a bow until next summer.
Gorgeous stream and canyon - very wild country - fun day.

[attachment deleted by admin]
When you're retired, every day is Saturday

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: My Biennial Yew Harvest
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2008, 01:04:00 am »
Another nice, well earned yew stave, Don. I can state for a fact that good yew bow wood grows in that area of Montana.  ;)  Don't you get chaffed on the 8 mile ride back home with that log riding where it does?  :o ::)   Nice haul.     Pat
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Badbill

« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2008, 01:06:58 am »
That was my first thought.  How does he get that wood home?  Ouch!  That is dedication.

Offline koan

• Brian D. Mo.
« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2008, 01:45:11 am »
Don, you got more gumpshin than most of us...I cant imagine the bike ride, let alone the ride back with the bow wood :o.....Brian
When you complement a lady on her dress.....make sure she is the one wearing it.....

Offline The Burnt Hill Archer

• Potter County, Pennsylvania
« Reply #4 on: July 16, 2008, 02:09:43 am »
nice haul. how do you ride the bike with the log hangin off there? you sure you're not Lance Armstrong in disguise? :D

nice high ring count too. good find youve got there.

Phil
stalk softly, and carry a bent stick.

radius

« Reply #5 on: July 16, 2008, 02:44:17 am »