Author Topic: short indian bows and grain  (Read 7740 times)

Offline Blacktail

short indian bows and grain
« on: July 10, 2008, 09:45:52 pm »
my question is.i have a short peice of yew wood that i want to make a indian bow out of.the wood is 38 inches and i was wondering if its possible to cut throught the gains and sinew back it....would the wood hold up being a short peice or is this a bad way to go.thanks john

Offline ricktrojanowski

• Worlds Greatest Deer Repellent
Re: short indian bows and grain
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2008, 11:43:07 pm »
I'm no expert, but 38" seems really short even with sinew backing.  It would have to be a real short draw.  Is it possible to get two splits out of the piece and splice?  See if some more experienced advice comes in before taking mine.
Traverse City, MI

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2008, 11:44:16 pm »
It is always better if you don't cut through the grain but if you sinew back the bow, it should be OK.  I'd make the bow bend through the handle and kick up the very tips on each limb. 19" to 20" would be max draw.     Pat
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Offline Blacktail

« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2008, 12:26:45 am »
thank you pat.that is what i was wondering and what i was looking for...you even got the tips and draw length in there..thanks you, thanks you.john

Offline JackCrafty

• Global Moderator
  • Sorry Officer, I was just gathering "materials".
« Reply #4 on: July 11, 2008, 02:33:17 am »
If possible, do some research on California Indian bows before you begin.  You'll discover that some Native American bow makers did not chase rings along the backs (especially when sinew is to be applied).  Ishi is a good example.