Author Topic: cutting staves  (Read 4202 times)

Offline deersled

cutting staves
« on: July 10, 2008, 04:57:49 pm »
I am brand new to this sight...great info. Just wondering, how do you decide what would make a good stave. I'm not talking about the "type" of wood. Mainly what are you looking for in a piece of wood that would make you think its a good stave. How big should it be? Anything else would be appreciated.

Offline sailordad

Re: cutting staves
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2008, 05:05:02 pm »
well im pretty new yet too, however the ones ive gotten from of the nice folks on here have been about 2x4x72

different woods you look for differant things,generally i belive you want thicker late growth rings versus early growth rings.

hang on though,someone with more knowledge will be along sooner or later to help ya out

peace,
                                                                                   tim

i always wanted a harley,untill it became the "thing to ride"
i ride because i love to,not to be part of the crowd

Offline Justin Snyder

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2008, 05:07:59 pm »
You can make a bow from a sapling of 2" diameter on most anything. When splitting bows out of wood, size depends some on the type of wood.  On woods that you want heartwood you obviously need a bigger log since you will scrape off the sapwood and end with a smaller diameter. A good 10-12" diameter will give you a few staves and is manageable for 1 guy.  Justin
Everything happens for a reason, sometimes the reason is you made a bad decision.

SW Utah

Offline richpierce

« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2008, 05:44:01 pm »
I look for a straight tree that has no branches for 6-8 feet, no knots, no holes, no apparent twisty bark.  I want it to be about 4-6" thick at the top so once I take the bark off there's still plenty of wood to get 2 or more staves from it.

jape

« Reply #4 on: July 10, 2008, 08:21:48 pm »