Author Topic: Black Locust Help  (Read 3305 times)

Marshrat

Black Locust Help
« on: July 07, 2008, 06:54:45 pm »
First of its been a while so Hey to Everyone.
Got a BL stave I worked at down to 1 ring got the sides rough shaped and let it finish drying. I took it out to start making it a bow. I knew i was going to have to straighten the bottom limb but now its got a twist. So I need to get some help with fixing this. And also there is a crack from the handle down the same limb can i back it with bamboo or something else to help this? Or have it got myself a piece of firewood LOL. This will be my first  stave to bow so any help is Welcomed
 Thanks To All
  Dennis 

Offline sailordad

Re: Black Locust Help
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2008, 07:08:34 pm »
ya know ive grown to love saying this

pictures,pictures we need pictures lol

seriously though,pictures will get advise from the smart and talented folks on here.
dont worry i'm not one of them,i'm a newbie but this is good cause i think i may be cutting some bl and suger maple tonight >:D

peace,
                                                                                        tim
i always wanted a harley,untill it became the "thing to ride"
i ride because i love to,not to be part of the crowd

Marshrat

« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2008, 07:19:47 pm »
I have no way nor do I know how to post pics. But will try and get someone to help me get some on here.

Offline bigcountry

« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2008, 08:38:20 pm »
I am getting ready to cut a BL, and want to try to work it, but it sounds like it will crack in a heartbeat. 
Westminster, MD

Marshrat

« Reply #4 on: July 07, 2008, 08:41:02 pm »
The crack i have is only in the back and real small thats why I think backing may do it.

Offline George Tsoukalas

• Traditional and Primitive Archers
« Reply #5 on: July 07, 2008, 09:28:35 pm »