Author Topic: Elm recurve from "junk" wood  (Read 4818 times)

Offline Ryan_Gill_HuntPrimitive

Elm recurve from "junk" wood
« on: July 05, 2008, 09:15:12 pm »
So i spent some time in the last couple weeks slowly working a piece of elm.  I tried to give this piece of elm away for the past year and no one would take it, it had a bit of twist and and had some knots, but i told everyone  that the centerline was good, stop looking at the stave and look at the bow inside it.  well no one would take it so i started playing with it and this is what i got out of it, not bad for "junk" wood eh?

62" ntn   and pulls  46# @ 28"   carved from Winged Elm
  the tip overlays are Osage. it took little- no set.  this one is a real beauty, its smooth as glass and the centerline is perfect.  im thrilled with it. unfortunately i dont care for bows under 55# so i will most likely let this one go.  it really likes my lighter spined cane arrows, it spits them out pretty well. it doesnt like my heavy poplar shafts though..hehe ::)
     thanks for looking at it.- Ryan

[attachment deleted by admin]
Formerly "twistedlimbs"
Gill's Primitive Archery and HuntPrimitive

Offline PeteC

Re: Elm recurve from "junk" wood
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2008, 09:32:23 pm »
That's a nice recurve Ryan.Did you use steam or dry heat on the bends?     God Bless,  PeteC
What you believe determines how you behave., Pete Clayton, Whitehouse ,Texas

Offline benjamin

« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2008, 10:00:07 pm »
I wish I had junk like that.

Offline Justin Snyder

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: July 05, 2008, 10:21:37 pm »
Great looking bow Ryan.
Everything happens for a reason, sometimes the reason is you made a bad decision.

SW Utah

Offline sailordad

« Reply #4 on: July 05, 2008, 10:22:50 pm »
t.l.

thats a sweeeeeet looking stick ya got thar.

looks like a good shooter, i like em plain and functionable,love them recurves,tight like that awesome.