Author Topic: Questions on Hickory log  (Read 674 times)

Offline Lost Oki

Questions on Hickory log
« on: August 30, 2024, 04:29:14 pm »
I am new at splitting logs for staves. I managed to obtain a hickory log, approx 90 inches long, 7" dia at base and approx 5" at the top.  Unfortunately when they pushed the tree over they gouged the base (see picture attached).  Plan is to cut to 70" and split, anticipating 4 staves.    My question:  Should I cut off the bottom or the top.
If I cut off bottom I can get rid of most of the gouge.  Note:  sealed both ends with black exterior paint, water base, 2 thick coats within hour of cutting.  other gouges are in bark only.
« Last Edit: August 30, 2024, 06:55:08 pm by Lost Oki »

Offline Muskyman

Re: Questions on Hickory log
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2024, 05:05:59 pm »
Is the black part from being hit by lightning?
I’d just split it then shorten it after it dries. See if you can get the bark to come off after you split it. Then seal it and store it.
« Last Edit: August 30, 2024, 05:09:44 pm by Muskyman »

Offline Lost Oki

« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2024, 06:55:50 pm »
Black paint I used to seal all bare wood

Offline Muskyman

« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2024, 07:02:25 pm »
Okay then. I’d get to splitting it and trying to get the bark off it. Hickory splits pretty straight typically. It’s tough wood and makes great bows. Does need to be really dry though. I’ve got some that’s been put up for a year this September and it’s still at about 17% mc actually tested it today.

Offline bentstick54

« Reply #4 on: August 30, 2024, 07:07:54 pm »
On fresh cut hickory during the growling season, the bark should peel off rather easily, leaving the freshly uncovered wood as the back of the bow. Then you don’t need to chase a ring.
I would get it split, get bark removed, then seal the back with something clear so you can see what your working it’s when you go to layout your bow when it is dry.

Offline Eric Krewson