Author Topic: Sinew  (Read 280 times)

Offline Muskyman

Sinew
« on: July 04, 2024, 06:25:04 pm »
Processed some back strap sinew today. First time so I have no idea how much I need to back a bow. I stopped when I started getting blisters on one of my fingers   I ended up with 60 grams total for today. I’ve still got about 12 more pieces of sinew to go. So I’m thinking I’ll get at least another 60 grams or more. Eventually I plan on trying to back a bow with it. Not sure when that might happen but some day.
Anyone have an approximate weight for what I should need. 70 inch or so bow

Offline Aaron1726

Re: Sinew
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2024, 12:34:33 am »
I'm still learning with sinew, but Dave was a big help when I did my first one.  I'm sure he will come along with advice.

I will say, I'd recommend saving that back sinew for strings and get some leg sinew for the bow.  Those nice long fibers are what you want for the string.  That is if you're wanting to make sinew strings.

Offline superdav95

« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2024, 12:38:44 am »