Author Topic: Northeastern NY knappable rock types and location  (Read 1814 times)

Offline N1ChiefRocka

Northeastern NY knappable rock types and location
« on: November 08, 2023, 04:31:51 pm »
Hello guys, I'm new to the site. I'm also new to knapping and in need of material to learn on. Lately I've been really interested in this as a hobby and have purchased a traditional aboriginal knapping kit. I've also been checking out rocky spots along the rivers around here for chert but no luck so far. I live in the Northeastern part of New York. West of Lake Champlain. I haven't been able to find out much information on the area. From what I've heard, it is not very common around here but some types can be found. There is one map I found that shows a big area of limestone as the bed rock and I've been searching through the river that runs through that area. I read that chert can be found as nodules on river banks in areas of limestone. Any information, tips or guidance in the right direction to get me started is appreciated. Thank you so much!  8)

Offline N1ChiefRocka

Re: Northeastern NY knappable rock types and location
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2023, 04:36:32 pm »
Also if anyone knows a few different types of knappable rocks besides chert that would be options in my area, that would be great! 8)
« Last Edit: November 09, 2023, 11:31:44 pm by N1ChiefRocka »

Offline Parnell

« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2023, 09:04:48 pm »
Hi Chief,

That part of the country is real tough for knappable rock.  I know Mt Kineo in Maine was quarried by natives for the region.  Rough stuff though…pretty sure it’s rhyolite.  You can start with glass.  Same advice is usually given in the beginning…get a box of Georgetown to learn on.  Bad material makes for a slow curve. 

A traditional aboriginal kit?  So no copper?
1’—>1’

Offline N1ChiefRocka

« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2023, 11:44:26 pm »