Author Topic: Yew stave straightening  (Read 2529 times)

Offline Muskyman

Yew stave straightening
« on: March 15, 2023, 01:19:21 pm »
I got this as a present. Posted it before but now I’m thinking about starting a bow with it. Yew stave 73 inches long but will cut it down to 72. Has almost 2 1/4 inch bend and I’m guessing I should take it down to about floor tiller then try to straighten it. Couple other things I’m curious about are the knots and should I try to avoid them with my layout

« Last Edit: March 15, 2023, 01:22:25 pm by Muskyman »

Offline Muskyman

Re: Yew stave straightening
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2023, 01:20:55 pm »
Knots

Offline Muskyman

« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2023, 01:21:41 pm »
Another pic

Offline bjrogg

• Cedar Pond
« Reply #3 on: March 15, 2023, 01:44:22 pm »
Sorry muskyman I have zero experience with yew. I know it’s a different critter.

I would suggest watching the video Del posted a link to on his new years bow in the English war bows section. I watched it and it was quite informative

Del has lots of videos that would surely be helpful

Bjrogg
A hot cup of coffee and a beautiful sunrise

Offline PEARL DRUMS

• }}}--CK-->
« Reply #4 on: March 15, 2023, 02:19:49 pm »
That knot is well below any line your bow will take on. Yew will bend and stay. But, you want to over bend by at least 25%. The thinner and more flexible the limbs are when you heat it up the more likely it stays put. I'd thin the sapwood down to a 1/4" thick max before you start doing much else.
Only when the last tree has died and the last river has been poisoned and the last fish has been caught will we realize we cannot eat money.

Offline Muskyman

« Reply #5 on: March 15, 2023, 02:29:30 pm »
I’ll try and find it.  I’ve never really straightened anything and am just a bit unsure as to how. I have watched others do it but, not really anything like this.