Author Topic: First mass principle bow  (Read 3682 times)

Black Moshannon

First mass principle bow
« on: February 22, 2022, 10:05:10 am »
Since I have to wait about a month without shooting to rest my shoulder i'm trying new things. This is my first time weighing a bow. It was roughed to 66" long, hair over 1.25" wide. I gave it a strong heat treat over the coals inducing 2.5" of reflex. Target weight is 47 pounds at 26". Today I had it bending by floor tillering. It feels like its maybe thirty pounds over my target weight. I weighed it and reduced the sides and now it weighs nineteen ounces. its down to 1 1/4" to 1 1/8" width. According to the chart in TBB vol 4, it should finish around 12.5 ounces. I got to that because of the induced reflex and the lower weight cancelling each other out. I thought I read in one of these posts Badger said that he would recommend going on the heavier side to reduce string follow, heavier than recommended in chart... It seems like I have a lot of weight to lose, six to seven ounces. And its already getting pretty narrow. Maybe this is just going to be a narrow one? here's a photo of the stave

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
Re: First mass principle bow
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2022, 10:43:41 am »
What wood are you using?
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Black Moshannon

« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2022, 12:28:07 pm »
Its hickory

Offline Pat B

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2022, 12:31:52 pm »
It seems a bit narrow for hickory.
Make the most of all that comes and the least of all that goes!    Pat Brennan  Brevard, NC

Black Moshannon

« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2022, 12:50:43 pm »