Author Topic: question about knots for rawhide backed yew  (Read 3401 times)

Offline Titan_Bow

question about knots for rawhide backed yew
« on: May 15, 2008, 02:59:26 pm »
 I have a pretty nice yew stave that I am working on.  I am going for a flatbow, 1.25" wide , 66"NTN, around 60# at 28".    I am planning on backing with rawhide for added protection, as this is going to be a hunting bow.  I've never done a bow out of yew before so I have a few questions before going any further with it.
  There are a few knots that have me concerned.  The first one is about 10" from the tip and ends up being centered in the limb.  Since I plan on backing with rawhide, can I take the "hump" down a little? Or should I leave it as it is?

The second knot ends up being again about 10" from the opposite tip.  This small grouping of knots is right on the edge of the limb layout.  How much wood should I leave around these knots?  Should I take my outline out to the edge of the stave here?

Here is a shot of the stave overall..

Any input is greatly appreciated.
Thanks, 
Titan_Bow

"Treat the earth well: it was not given to you by

Offline deerhunter97370

Re: question about knots for rawhide backed yew
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2008, 06:41:42 pm »
I myself would leave the nots. Im working on a 54 in. Yew rawhide back. Joel
Always be ready to: Preach, Pray, or Die. John Wesley

Offline El Destructo

• Longhaired Crippled Hippie Biker And Proud Of It!!
    • Desert Sportz Primitive Archery
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2008, 11:42:14 pm »